Razor Clam Digs Start Dec. 31st On Washington’s Ocean Beaches

Clam diggers can ring in the New Year by filling their buckets with razor clams during an eight-day opener beginning Dec. 31.

State shellfish managers with the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the dig after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat.

“Digging razor clams over the New Year’s holiday is a true Northwest tradition,” said Dan Ayres, WDFW coastal shellfish manager.

The best digging typically occurs one to two hours before low tide, said Ayres, noting that digging is not allowed at any beach before noon.

“With afternoon low tides in their favor, diggers can hit the beach in the daylight and still have plenty of time to clean and cook their clams for a New Year’s meal,” he said.

Upcoming digs are scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

Dec. 31, Wednesday; 3:05 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
Jan. 1, Thursday; 4:01 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
Jan. 2, Friday; 4:49 p.m., -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
Jan. 3, Saturday; 5:32 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
Jan. 4, Sunday; 6:12 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Jan. 5, Monday; 6:48 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 6, Tuesday; 7:23 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 7, Wednesday; 7:57 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.

“Of course weather always plays a factor, but in recent weeks many diggers have harvested their limits and picked up good-sized clams of 4 to 5 inches,” Ayres said.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW’s website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

Looking ahead, WDFW will announce the final word on a dig tentatively scheduled to begin Jan. 17 after marine toxin tests have been completed. Below is the proposed razor clam dig, along with evening low tides and beaches:

Jan. 17, Saturday; 4:15 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
Jan. 18, Sunday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Jan. 19, Monday; 5:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 20, Tuesday; 6:30 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 21, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 22, Thursday; 7:56 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
Jan. 23, Friday; 8:40 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
Jan. 24, Saturday; 9:25 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis

About Pete Heley

Writes and self-publishes Oregon and Washington fishing books.
Permalink

Comments are closed.